SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2016 – Online Examination

In this post I am going to tell you in detail about SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2016. I will also tell you about the latest change in pattern, marks, syllabus for tier I, II, III and IV. Staff Selection Commission has changed the exam pattern of SSC Combined Graduate Level Exam 2016. Here are the details about the changes which have been made in the exam pattern. I will explain you one by one about the changes made.

ssc cgl new exam pattern

SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2016

Number of Questions has been reduced in Tier I: In the Tier I the number of questions has been reduced. Earlier there were 200 questions which have now been reduced to 100 questions. The total marks will however remain 200. Earlier the duration of exam was of 120 minutes which has now been reduced to 75 minutes.

Online Exam will be conducted: Other big change which has taken place is that earlier it was an OMR based examination however now it will be a computer based exam. In other words earlier it was an offline exam and now it will be an online exam.

Negative Marking: There will be negative marking of 0.50 for each wrong answer in Tier-I. However in respect of Tier II, the system of negative marking will remain unchanged.

Introduction of Descriptive Paper: SSC has also decided to introduce a new tier which is Tier III. There will be a Descriptive Paper of English/Hindi. Candidates will have the option to choose one medium as the question paper will be bilingual.

No Sectional Cut Off: The students will be required to qualify all the tiers i.e. Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III separately. The final merit will be prepared on overall performance in all the tiers. There will not be any sectional cut off.

Now look at the Exam pattern of all the tiers.

Tier I

SSC CGL New Exam Pattern

Tier II

The structure of tier II exam will be as under:

Quantitative Abilities: 200 marks (100 Questions)

Duration: 2 hours

English Language & Comprehension: 200 marks.

Duration: 2 hours

Total Marks: 400

There will be no change in Tier II and two papers of 200 marks each would continue. Those who qualify in both Tier I and II, will have to take tier III exam of 100 marks which will be descriptive in nature, the officials said. Tier IV will only be for certain posts and will not be applicable for all.

Tier III and Tier IV

ssc cgl 2016 tier II

I hope after reading this now the SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2016 will be very much clear to you. However if you have any doubt you can post your comment and I will respond to that.

Disclaimer: All care has been taken while providing the information. However the publishers are not responsible for any discrepancy. Please refer to SSC Official Website for further details.


  1. krishna geethan says:

    Plzz can u give syllabus for tier l exam

  2. Pranil Patil says:

    12th pass and B.A-3

  3. Now I m steel study in THIRD YEAR BBA can I give these exam??

  4. Dawa lozang sherpa says:

    I do please contact in this number 9564915472

Speak Your Mind